One dead camera, healthy pancakes and yet another movie

Sadly, my camera has officially died. Soo that means no pics at all =(, unless of course I steal my mother’s camera….=P. Let us have a moment of silence for my poor 3 year old camera that has left this world today.

Moving on.

Healthy pancakes are the next item in my title. You might think that it is impossible to have pancakes that are both yummy AND healthy, but after I stumbled upon the recipe featured here:http://pbfingers.com/2010/03/17/kiss-me-im-not-irish/, and I saw that not only are these ‘cakes super healthy and protein-loaded, they are CHOCOLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In my book, that makes them just about perfect and completely justifies my making them for dinner instead of breakfast.

I did in fact tweak the recipe just a little bit, so here it is:

1 scoop chocolate protein powder (I used Spiru-Tein Chocolate)

1 medium egg (Because the fat in eggs is actually good, and also because I don’t believe in wasting anything =P)

2 tbsp lowfat cottage cheese (2tbsp=1/8 cup)

Then I just mixed everything until the batter was smooth, and dropped tablespoonfuls onto a griddle sprayed with cooking spray. Make sure to spread these things out some with a spatula, because the batter is thick and you want them to cook all the way through. While the first side was cooking, I dropped a couple of blueberries into each pancake and then flipped them to let them finish cooking. Guess what I topped them with????

Not syrup. or butter. or whipped cream. or even fresh fruit.

I topped my chocolate protein pancakes with PEANUT BUTTER!!!! I guess I was hungry for both chocolate and peanut butter today………I even ate a mini three musketeers(my other fav. chocolate bar) after lunch today.

I’m not going to post them here, but the stats on these pancakes were pretty impressive AND they tasted wonderful too. I can sense a beautiful new friendship blossoming………….you’ll probably hear about these sometime in the near future. Thanks to Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers for posting this recipe!!!!!

I also ate more breakfast-y items for dinner today: a bowl of instant oatmeal, which, instead of making with water or milk, I make with some spiced tea, topped with (more) blueberries, some toast and a big ol’ glass of orange juice. Maybe missing my usual breakfast caused me to want all of this for dinner……..hmmmm no complaints here =P.

My sister and I are gonna rent a movie at the redbox to watch tonight!!!! Super fun!!!! Oh and by the way, Ramona and Beezus was cuter than I thought it would be. Of course I managed to embarass myself by trying to get to the ladies’ room by opening the exit that leads to the outside rather than to the hallway in the MIDDLE of the movie….but that’s just typical me.

Off to pick a movie……..my internet classes start tomorrow……fuuun stuff =P.

Catch ya  later.

Leave a Reply

